Without fail, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association picks independent darling “Boyhood” and director Richard Linklater as their winners. For some reason, Patricia Arquette takes Best Actress rather than Supporting while Best Foreign Film winning “Ida” has supporting actress Agata Kuleszka winning in that category. Tom Hardy comes out of nowhere as the winner of Best Actor for his one man show performance in British film “Locke”. J.K. Simmons better get used to his name being called because these critics awards are solidifying his name as the winner each and every day. Another win for cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki (“Birdman”) and another win for “Boyhood” in the Best Editing category. Another win for animated film “The Tale Of The Princess Kaguya” as well as the Edward Snowden documentary “CitizenFour”. If you take notice, “The Grand Budapest Hotel” and Wes Anderson grab their first win while “Under The Skin” continues to surprise in the Best Original Score category. Here is a complete list of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards:

Best Picture: “Boyhood”
Best Director: Richard Linklater (“Boyhood”)
Best Actor: Tom Hardy (“Locke”)
Best Actress: Patricia Arquette (“Boyhood”)
Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons (“Whiplash”)
Supporting Actress: Agata Kuleszka, (“Ida”)
Best Screenplay: “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Animated: “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya”
Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki (“Birdman”)
Documentary: “Citizenfour”
Best Editing: “Boyhood”
Foreign Film: “Ida”
Score: “Under the Skin”, “Inherent Vice” (TIE)
Best Production Design: “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Leave a Reply