The Producers Guild nominations are the closest look that we will get at the Best Picture category before Oscar nominations come out next week. Obviously “Birdman” and “Boyhood” are no surprises, as they are locked and ready for a heated battle for the gold. “The Grand Budapest Hotel”, “The Imitation Game”, and “The Theory Of Everything” are basically clinched as well, while “Foxcatcher” and “Whiplash” are edging towards Oscar nominations in their own right. The big question marks are “American Sniper,” which just recently started getting love and rightfully so. It getting nominated at the Oscars would be huge and well deserved, and “Nightcrawler” and “Gone Girl,” which have also been showing up everywhere but are still being called outliers in the race. Most noticeably missing is “Selma,” which has gotten tons of love as of late and “Unbroken,” which most have recently predicted its fall from grace as far as the Best Picture category is concerned. Although the PGA nominates ten, the Oscars have ended up with nine for the past few years, so minus one of these, plus probably add back in “Selma,” replacing one of these as well, and this could be the Best Picture landscape.

American Sniper (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Producers: Bradley Cooper, p.g.a., Clint Eastwood, p.g.a., Andrew Lazar, p.g.a., Robert Lorenz, p.g.a., Peter Morgan, p.g.a.

Birdman (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Producers: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, James W. Skotchdopole

Boyhood (IFC Films)
Producers: Richard Linklater, p.g.a., Cathleen Sutherland, p.g.a.

Foxcatcher (Sony Pictures Classics)
Producers: Megan Ellison, p.g.a., Jon Kilik, p.g.a., Bennett Miller, p.g.a.

Gone Girl (20th Century Fox)
Producer: Ceán Chaffin, p.g.a.

The Grand Budapest Hotel (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Producers: Wes Anderson & Scott Rudin, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales

The Imitation Game (The Weinstein Company)
Producers: Nora Grossman, p.g.a., Ido Ostrowsky, p.g.a., Teddy Schwarzman, p.g.a.

Nightcrawler (Open Road Films)
Producers: Jennifer Fox, Tony Gilroy

The Theory of Everything (Focus Features)
Producers: Tim Bevan & Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce, Anthony McCarten

Whiplash (Sony Pictures Classics)
Producers: Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook, David Lancaster

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Big Hero 6 (Walt Disney Animation Studios)
Producer: Roy Conli, p.g.a.

The Book of Life (20th Century Fox)
Producers: Brad Booker, p.g.a., Guillermo del Toro, p.g.a.

The Boxtrolls (Focus Features)
Producers: David Bleiman Ichioka, p.g.a., Travis Knight, p.g.a.

How To Train Your Dragon 2 (20th Century Fox)
Producer: Bonnie Arnold, p.g.a.

The LEGO Movie (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Producer: Dan Lin

Leave a Reply