Repeating yet again, Indiana Film Critics Association puts “Spotlight” in Best Picture and George Miller (“Mad Max: Fury Road”) in Best Director. Brie Larson (“Room”) for Best Actress is no surprise any longer but her young co-star Jacob Tremblay lands his first win. Long long long shot Greta Gerwig gets an unexpected win for “Mistress America” from Noah Baumbach while Mark Ruffalo finally lands his first win for “Spotlight.” The biggest competition “Inside Out” has in the Animated category seems to be Charlie Kaufman’s “Anomalisa” while it feels like “Son Of Saul” is the foregone front-runner for the Oscar, as is “Amy” for Documentary.

Best Film: “Spotlight”     (runner-up: “Room”)
Best Director: George Miller – “Mad Max: Fury Road”     (runner-up: Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”)
Best Actress: Brie Larson – “Room”     (runner-up: Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”)
Best Actor: Jacob Tremblay – “Room”     (runner-up: Jason Segel, “The End of the Tour”)
Best Supporting Actress: Greta Gerwig – “Mistress America”     (runner-up: Elizabeth Banks, “Love & Mercy”)
Best Supporting Actor: Mark Ruffalo – “Spotlight”     (runner-up: Idris Elba, “Beasts Of No Nation”)
Best Animated Feature: “Anomalisa”     (runner-up: “Inside Out ”)
Best Foreign Language Film: “Son Of Saul”     (runner-up: “Goodnight Mommy”)
Best Documentary: “Amy”     (runner-up: “Meru”)
Best Original Screenplay: Tom McCarthy & Josh Singer – “Spotlight”     (runner-up: Matt Charman, Joel & Ethan Coen, “Bridge of Spies”)
Best Adapted Screenplay: Emma Donoghue – “Room”     (runner-up: Adam McKay & Charles Randolph, “The Big Short”)
Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance: Phyllis Smith – “Inside Out”     (runner-up: Tom Noonan, “Anomalisa”)
Best Musical Score: Junkie XL – “Mad Max: Fury Road”     (runner-up: Disasterpeace, “It Follows”)
Original Vision Award: “Anomalisa”     (runner-up: “Chi-Raq”)
The Hoosier Award: Angelo Pizzo, writer/director/producer

Leave a Reply