GAME OF THRONES: SEASON SEVEN || Cersei Lannister (Lena Headey) sounds pretty confident when she proclaims “enemies to the East, enemies to the West, enemies to the South, enemies to the North… whatever stands in our way, we will defeat it,” at the beginning of the first actual trailer for Season Seven of Game Of Thrones. “We’re the last Lannisters,” she tells her brother/lover Jamie Lannister (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau), as their army marches on. “The last ones who count,” as the trailer reminds of visually that Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage) is still alive and kicking.

This leads to a natural segue to Daenerys “Mother Of Dragons” Targaryen (Emilia Clarke) and her dragons. “I was born to rule the Seven Kingdoms,” she says, referring to the fact that her father, King Aerys II Targaryen aka the Mad King, was the ruler of the Iron Throne before being ousted by Robert Baratheon’s rebellion and murdered by a member of his own Kingsguard, who was none other than Jamie Lannister, dubbed the Kingslayer. Daenerys regards ruling Westeros as her birthright. She’s sitting on her own rock throne and her armies are fighting for her as they had set off towards King’s Landing at the end of Season Six.

Finally, we see Jon Snow (Kit Harrington), who was declared King Of The North at the end of Season Six. Petyr “Littlefinger” Baelish (Aiden Gillen) is seen whispering in Sansa Stark’s (Sophie Turner) ear about how she is the best hope against the “coming storm,” while Davos Seaworth (Liam Cunningham) reminds us about the White Walkers that are on their way: “if we don’t put aside our enmities and bound together we will die… and then it doesn’t matter whose skeleton sits on the Iron Throne.” Other characters we get glimpses of are Arya Stark (Maisie Williams), Theon Greyjoy (Alfie Allen), Melisandre (Carice van Houten), and even the walking zombie guard of Cersei, The Mountain.

The trailer ends with Jon Snow proclaiming: “The Great War is here!” as Daenerys’ army and a dragon storm an open field.

Unlike previous seasons, with were comprised of ten episodes, Season Seven will only be seven episodes, leading into the eighth and final season, which will likely only be six episodes, with a tentative premiere date of 2018. This seventh season yet again comes prior to the release of author George R. R. Martin’s upcoming sixth and seventh novels The Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring. On January 10, 2017, Martin announced on his blog in a response to a comment that he believed that The Winds of Winter will be released “this year”, referring to 2017. However, he also noted that he believed the same thing would occur the previous year.

Start Date: July 16, 2017
Studio: HBO

Leave a Reply