The Los Angeles Film Critics Association names a completely different film as their Best Picture of the Year, following the National Board of Review and the New York Film Critics Circle naming “The Post” and “Lady Bird” respectively. LA’s Critics named “Call Me By Your Name” the big winner, with Timothée Chalamet winning Best Actor and Luca Guadagnino sharing Best Director with Guillermo del Toro for “The Shape Of Water,” which also earned Sally Hawkins a win for Best Supporting Actress and Dan Laustsen for Best Cinematography. “Get Out” stayed on the board with Jordan Peele winning Best Screenplay, which is starting to make a clear distinction that “Get Out” will likely be a definite Oscar contender. Willem Dafoe wins his third straight Best Supporting Actor award and is starting his roll towards winning the Oscar. “Dunkirk,” “Blade Runner 2049,” and “Phantom Thread” won some technical awards. “The Breadwinner” beat out “Coco” for Best Animated Film and “BPM” tied with “Loveless” for Best Foreign-Language Film. “Faces Places” won Best Documentary.

Best Picture: “Call Me By Your Name”
Best Director: Guillermo del Toro – “The Shape Of Water” & Luca Guadagnino – “Call Me By Your Name” (tie)
Best Actress: Sally Hawkins – “The Shape Of Water”
Best Actor: Timothée Chalamet – “Call Me By Your Name”
Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf – “Lady Bird”
Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe – “The Florida Project”
Best Animated Film: “The Breadwinner”
Best Foreign-Language Film: “BPM” & “Loveless” (tie)
Best Documentary/Non-Fiction: “Faces Places”
Best Screenplay: “Get Out” – Jordan Peele
Best Editing: “Dunkirk” – Lee Smith
Best Production Design: “Blade Runner 2049” – Dennis Gassner
Best Music Score: “Phantom Thread” – Jonny Greenwood
Best Cinematography: “The Shape Of Water” – Dan Laustsen
Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Prize: “Purge This Land” – Lee Anne Schmitt
Next Generation: Greta Gerwig
Career Achievement: Max von Sydow

Leave a Reply