Four critics groups have now announced their Best Pictures and with that we’ve gotten four different Best Pictures. “The Post,” “Lady Bird,” “Call Me By Your Name,” and now “The Florida Project” have all been announced as the Best Pictures of the Year, three of which are indies. What this says about the wide open Oscar season is anyone’s guess. Sean Baker follows suit with his second critics win, having won Best Director from the New York Film Critics Circle as well. James Franco (“The Disaster Artist”), Frances McDormand (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”) and Allison Janney (“I, Tonya”) all finally get on the board with wins as many expected. Willem Dafoe signifies that he’s going all the way to the Oscars, having won all four critics awards he’s been nominated for thus far, the only person to win across the board so far. “The LEGO Batman Movie” and “Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond” both show up for the first-time as well. Jordan Peele can add yet another award to his mantle, winning Best Breakthrough for writing and directing “Get Out,” a film that may not be taking many major awards but is still raking in at least one award from each group in some capacity. Still notably missing is “Dunkirk” and “Darkest Hour,” specifically Gary Oldman for Best Actor, who has been completely shut out.

Best Picture: “The Florida Project”
Best Director: Sean Baker – “The Florida Project”
Best Actor: James Franco – “The Disaster Artist”
Best Actress: Frances McDormand – “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe – “The Florida Project”
Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney – “I, Tonya”
Best Screenplay: Martin McDonagh – “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Best Animated Feature: “The LEGO Batman Movie”
Best Documentary: “Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond”
Best Use Of Music: “Baby Driver”
Best Ensemble: “The Post”
Best Breakthrough: Jordan Peele – “Get Out” (writer-director)

Leave a Reply