“American Factory” wins Outstanding Achievement in NonFiction Feature Filmmaking and Directing at the 13th Annual Cinema Eye Awards. “Apollo 11” and “Honeyland” take some technical awards while “For Sama” and “The Cave” sharing the Outstanding Achievement in Production. All of these are still on the shortlist for the Academy Awards.

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking

“American Factory”

Directed and Produced by Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
Produced by Jeff Reichert and Julie Parker Benello

  • “Apollo 11”
  • “For Sama”
  • “Honeyland”
  • “Midnight Family”
  • “One Child Nation”

Outstanding Achievement in Direction

“American Factory”
Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert

  • “The Cave” — Feras Fayyad
  • “Cold Case Hammarskjöld” — Mads Brügger
  • “Honeyland” — Ljubomir Stefanov and Tamara Kotevska
  • “The Hottest August” — Brett Story
  • “One Child Nation” — Nanfu Wang and Jialing Zhang

Outstanding Achievement in Production

“The Cave”
Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjær
“For Sama”
Waad Al-Kateab

  • “Aquarela” — Aimara Reques, Sigrid Dyekjær and Heino Deckert
  • “Apollo 11” — Todd Douglas Miller, Thomas Petersen and Evan Krauss
  • “Midnight Family” — Luke Lorentzen and Kellen Quinn
  • “Midnight Traveler” — Emelie Mahdavian and Su Kim

Outstanding Achievement in Editing

“Apollo 11”
Todd Douglas Miller

  • “17 Blocks” — Jennifer Tiexiera
  • “American Factory” — Lindsay Utz
  • “Letter To The Editor” — Alan Berliner
  • “Mike Wallace Is Here” — Billy McMillin

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography

Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma

  • “Aquarela” — Victor Kossokovsky
  • “Anthropocene: The Human Epoch” — Nicholas De Pencier
  • “Midnight Family” — Luke Lorentzen
  • “What You Gonna Do When The World’s On Fire?” — Diego Romero

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score

“Apollo 11”
Matt Morton

  • “American Factory” — Chad Cannon
  • “Anthropocene: The Human Epoch” — Rose Bolton and Norah Lorway
  • “Aquarela” — Eicca Toppinen
  • “Black Mother” — 4th Disciple
  • “Symphony Of The Ursus Factory” — Dominik Strycharski

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation

“The Great Hack”
Ash Thorp, Matthew Hornick and Patrick Cederberg

  • “The Inventor: Out For Blood In Silicon Valley” — Hazel Baird
  • “Moonlight Sonata: Deafness In Three Movements” — Brian Kinkley and Ben Luce
  • “Our Time Machine” — Ryan Wehner

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film

“The Disappearance Of My Mother”
Beniamino Barrese

  • “Jawline” — Directed by Liza Mandelup
  • “Scheme Birds” — Directed by Ellen Fiske and Ellinor Hallin
  • “Searching Eva” — Directed by Pia Hellenthal
  • “Swarm Season” — Directed by Sarah Christman
  • “Symphony Of The Ursus Factory” — Directed by Jasmina Wójcik

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking

“Ghosts of Sugar Land”
Bassam Tariq

  • “Crannog” — Directed by Isa Roa
  • “Fast Horse” — Directed by Alex Lazarowich
  • “Lowland Kids” — Directed by Sandra Winther
  • “Stay Close” — Directed by Luther Clement and Shuhan Fan
  • “Subject To Review” — Directed by Theo Anthony

Spotlight Award

Shengze Zhu

  • “Always In Season” — Directed by Jacqueline Olive
  • “Bellingcat: Truth In A Post-Truth World” — Directed by Hans Pool
  • “Dark Suns” — Directed by Julien Elie
  • “The Raft” — Directed by Marcus Lindeen

Audience Choice Prize

“The Biggest LIttle Farm”
John Chester

  • “17 Blocks” — Directed by Davy Rothbart
  • “The Amazing Johnathan Documentary” — Directed by Ben Berman
  • “American Factory” — Directed by Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
  • “Apollo 11” — Directed by Todd Douglas Miller
  • “Ask Dr. Ruth” — Directed by Ryan White
  • “The Cave” — Directed by Feras Fayyad
  • “For Sama” — Directed by Waad Al-Kateab and Edward Watts
  • “Knock Down The House” — Directed by Rachel Lears
  • “Maiden” — Directed by Alex Holmes

Heterodox Award

“The Souvenir”
Joanna Hogg

  • “Atlantics” — Directed by Mati Diop
  • “Honey Boy” — Directed by Alma Har’el
  • “The Infiltrators” — Directed by Alex Rivera and Cristina Ibarra
  • “Vitalina Varela” — Directed by Pedro Costa


Outstanding Achievement in a Nonfiction Film for Broadcast

“Leaving Neverland”
Dan Reed

  • “Apollo: Missions to the Moon” — Directed by Tom Jennings | National Geographic
  • “At the Heart of Gold: Inside the USA Gymnastics Scandal” — Directed by Erin Lee Carr | HBO
  • “Breslin and Hamill: Deadline Artists” — Directed by John Block, Jonathan Alter and Steve McCarthy | HBO
  • “Homecoming” — Directed by Beyoncé Knowles-Carter | Netflix
  • “The Sentence” — Directed by Rudy Valdez | HBO

Outstanding Achievement in a Nonfiction Series for Broadcast

“Tricky Dick”
Mary Robertson

  • “The Case Against Adnan Syed” — Directed by Amy Berg | HBO
  • “The Family” — Directed by Jesse Moss | Netflix
  • “Jonestown: Terror in the Jungle” — Directed by Shan Nicholson and Richard Lopez | SundanceTV
  • “Last Chance U: Season 4” — Directed by Greg Whiteley | Netflix
  • “Salt Fat Acid Heat” — Directed by Caroline Suh | Netflix

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Broadcast Editing

“Apollo: Mission to the Moon”
David Tillman
National Geographic

  • “Homecoming” — Alexander Hammer, Andrew Morrow, Nia Imani and Julian Klincewicz | Netflix
  • “Leaving Neverland” — Jules Cornell | HBO
  • “Tricky Dick” — Benji Kast, David Mehlman, Diana DiCilio and Seth Skundrick | CNN

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Broadcast Cinematography

Mark Ritchie, Julian Klincewicz, Dikayl Rimmasch and Irie Calkins

  • “Into the Okavango” — Neil Gelinas | National Geographic
  • “Salt Fat Acid Heat” — Luke McCoubrey | Netflix
  • “Tigerland” — Matt Porwoll and Ross Kauffman| Discovery

(Non-Competitive Honor)

  • “Advocate” — Lea Tsemel
  • “The Amazing Johnathan Documentary” — The Amazing Johnathan
  • “Ask Dr. Ruth” — Dr. Ruth Westheimer
  • “The Cave” — Dr. Amani Ballour
  • “The Disappearance Of My Mother” — Benedetta Barzini
  • “For Sama” — Waad and Hamza al-Kataeb
  • “Hail Satan?” — Lucien Greaves
  • “Honeyland” — Hatidze Muratova
  • “Knock Down The House” — Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez
  • “Maiden” — Tracy Edwards
  • “Midnight Family” — Juan Ochoa
  • “Midnight Traveler” — Fatima Hussaini and Hassan Fazili
  • “Seahorse” — Freddy
  • “What You Gonna Do When The World’s On Fire?” — Judy Hill
  • “XY Chelsea” — Chelsea Manning

Legacy Award


Directed and Produced by Godfrey Reggio
Cinematography Ron Fricke
Editing Ron Fricke and Alton Walpole
Original Score Philip Glass

Leave a Reply