USC FILM Scripter Award

“Little Women”
Greta Gerwig
(Based on the novel by Author Louisa May Alcott)

  • Matthew Carnahan and Mario Correa for “Dark Waters” based on the New York Times Magazine article “The Lawyer Who Became DuPont’s Worst Nightmare” by Nathaniel Rich 
  • Steven Zaillian for “The Irishman” based on the nonfiction work “I Heard You Paint Houses” by Charles Brandt  
  • Taika Waititi for “JoJo Rabbit” based on the novel “Caging Skies” by Christine Leunens
  • Anthony McCarten for “The Two Popes” based on his play “The Pope” 


Episode: “Season 2: Episode 1”
(Based on her one-woman play of the same name)
Phoebe Waller-Bridge

  • Joel Fields and Steven Levenson for the episode “Nowadays,” from “Fosse/Verdon,” based on the biography “Fosse” by Sam Wasson 
  • Emerald Fennell for the episode “Nice and Neat,” from “Killing Eve,” based on the novel “Codename Villanelle” by Luke Jennings 
  • Susannah Grant, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman for the first episode of “Unbelievable,” based on the article “An Unbelievable Story of Rape,” by T. Christian Miller and Ken Armstrong
  • Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson for the episode “This Extraordinary Being,” from “Watchmen” based on the comic book series by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons 

Literary Achievement Award

Susan Orlean

Leave a Reply