As we draw closer to the 92nd Academy Award nominations being announced, the Producers Guild chimes in with their nominees today. Some of the nominees seem like no-brainers like “Nomadland,” “Minari,” “Mank,” “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom,” and “The Trial of the Chicago 7.” At the Oscars, they will be showing up in a lot of categories, so a Best Picture nomination seems likely. Then you’ve got films like “Promising Young Woman,” “Sound Of Metal,” and “One Night In Miami,” which feel like should be shoe-ins for a BP nomination but for one reason or another, still feels like they could somehow miss. And then, there’s films like “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm” and “Judas and the Black Messiah” which have missed here and there (Globes or AFI) and feel like longer shots. Key missing films are “Da 5 Bloods,” which could be overcome quite easily. It was still nominated by SAG and was on the AFI list. Plus, “News of the World,” which had been gaining momentum. There’s also a case to be made for “Soul,” which was nominated for the Animated category, to get an Oscar nomination.

Will most of the ten films nominated here end up with a Best Picture nomination? Yes. Will one of these end up being the Best Picture winner? Also yes. But there’s still a chance that a film that missed here will land with an Oscar nomination. Tomorrow’s Directors Guild and BAFTA nominations will shed even more light on the situation.


Darryl F. Zanuck Award
for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

“Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”
Sacha Baron Cohen
Monica Levinson
Anthony Hines
(Amazon Studios)

“Judas and the Black Messiah”
Charles D. King
Ryan Coogler
Shaka King
(Warner Bros Pictures)

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”
Denzel Washington
Todd Black

Ceán Chaffin
Eric Roth
Douglas Urbanski

Christina Oh

Mollye Asher
Dan Janvey
Frances McDormand
Peter Spears
Chloé Zhao
(Searchlight Pictures)

“One Night in Miami”
Jess Wu Calder
Keith Calder
Jody Klein
(Amazon Studios)

“Promising Young Woman”
Josey McNamara
Ben Browning
Ashley Fox
Emerald Fennell
(Focus Features)

“Sound of Metal”
Bert Hamelinck
Sacha Ben Harroche
(Amazon Studios)

The Trial of the Chicago 7
Marc Platt
Stuart Besser

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

“The Croods: A New Age”
Mark Swift
(DreamWorks Animation)

Kori Rae

“Over the Moon”
Gennie Rim
Peilin Chou

Dana Murray

Paul Young
Nora Twomey
Tomm Moore
Stéphan Roelants
(Apple TV Plus/GKIDS)

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Picture

“David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet”

“Dick Johnson Is Dead”

“My Octopus Teacher”


“A Thousand Cuts”

(Amazon Studios)

“The Truffle Hunters”
(Sony Pictures Classics)


Norman Felton Award
for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – drama

“Better Call Saul”
Season 5
*Eligibility determination pending*

Season 1
*Eligibility determination pending*

“The Crown”
Season 4
Peter Morgan
Suzanne Mackie
Stephen Daldry
Andy Harries
Benjamin Caron
Matthew Byam Shaw
Robert Fox
Michael Casey
Andy Stebbing
Martin Harrison
Oona O’Beirn

“The Mandalorian”
Season 2
Jon Favreau
Dave Filoni
Kathleen Kennedy
Colin Wilson
Karen Gilchrist
John Bartnicki
Carrie Beck
(Disney Plus)

Season 3
Jason Bateman
Chris Mundy
Bill Dubuque
Mark Williams
Patrick Markey
John Shiban
Miki Johnson
Matthew Spiegel
Erin Mitchell
Martin Zimmerman
Peter Thorell

Danny Thomas Award
for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy

“Curb Your Enthusiasm”
Season 10
*Eligibility determination pending*

“The Flight Attendant”
Season 1
Greg Berlanti
Kaley Cuoco
Steve Yockey
Meredith Lavender
Marcie Ullin
Sarah Schechter
Suzanne McCormack
Jess Meyer
Raymond Quinlan
Jennifer Lence
Erika Kennair
(HBO Max)

“Schitt’s Creek”
Season 6
Eugene Levy
Daniel Levy
Andrew Barnsley
Fred Levy
David West Read
Ben Feigin
Michael Short
Kurt Smeaton
Kosta Orfanidis
(Pop TV)

“Ted Lasso”
Season 1
Bill Lawrence
Jason Sudeikis
Jeff Ingold
Bill Wrubel
Liza Katzer
Jane Becker
Jamie Lee
Kip Kroeger
Brendan Hunt
Tina Pawlik
Joe Kelly
(Apple TV Plus)

“What We Do in the Shadows”
Season 2
Jemaine Clement
Taika Waititi
Paul Simms
Scott Rudin
Garrett Basch
Eli Bush
Stefani Robinson
Sam Johnson
Marika Sawyer
Derek S. Rappaport

David L. Wolper Award
for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television

“I May Destroy You”
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Normal People”
Lenny Abrahamson
Sally Rooney
Ed Guiney
Andrew Lowe
Emma Norton
Anna Ferguson
Catherine Magee

“The Queen’s Gambit”
William Horberg
Allan Scott
Scott Frank
Marcus Loges
Mick Aniceto

“The Undoing”
Susanne Bier
David E. Kelley
Per Saari
Nicole Kidman
Bruna Papandrea
Stephen Garrett
Celia Costas
Deb Dyer

Anna Winger
Henning Kamm
Alexa Karolinksi

Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures

“Bad Education”
Fred Berger
Eddie Vaisman

“Dolly Parton’s Christmas on the Square“
*Eligibility determination pending*

Thomas Kail
Lin-Manuel Miranda
Jeffrey Seller
(Disney Plus)

“Jane Goodall: The Hope“
*Eligibility determination pending*
(National Geographic)

“What the Constitution Means To Me“
*Eligibility determination pending*
(Amazon Studios)

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

“60 Minutes”
Season 53
Bill Owens

“The Last Dance”
Season 1
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Laurel Canyon”
*Eligibility determination pending*

Season 1
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Tiger King: Murder, Mayhem and Madness”
*Eligibility determination pending*

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

“8:46 – Dave Chappelle (Special)”
*Eligibility determination pending*

“The Daily Show with Trevor Noah”
Season 26
*Eligibility determination pending*
(Comedy Central)

“Last Week Tonight with John Oliver”
Season 7
*Eligibility determination pending*

“The Late Show with Stephen Colbert”
Season 6
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Saturday Night Live”
Season 46
*Eligibility determination pending*

Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

“The Amazing Race”
Season 32
Jerry Bruckheimer
Bertram van Munster
Jonathan Littman
Elise Doganieri
Mark Vertullo
Phil Keoghan

“The Masked Singer”
Season 3-4
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Nailed It!”
Season 4
*Eligibility determination pending*

“RuPaul’s Drag Race”
Season 12
*Eligibility determination pending*

“The Voice”
Season 18-19
*Eligibility determination pending*

Outstanding Producer of Short-Form Program

“Better Call Saul: Employee Training: Legal Ethics w/Kim Wexler
Season 3

“Carpool Karaoke: The Series”
Season 3

“The Daily Show: Between The Scenes
Season 5

“Inside Pixar: Inspired
Season 1

“SNL Presents: Stories from the Show
Season 1

Outstanding Producer of Sports Program

“Defying Gravity: The Untold Story of Women’s Gymnastics
Season 1

“Hard Knocks: Los Angeles”
(HBO Max)

Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel
Season 26

“Seeing America with Megan Rapinoe”
(HBO Max)

“The Shop: UNINTERRUPTED Featuring President Barack Obama”

Outstanding Producer of Children’s Program

“The Animaniacs”
Season 1

“Carmen Sandiego”
Season 3

“Looney Tunes Cartoons
Season 1

“The Power of We
“A Sesame Street Special”

“Star Wars: The Clone Wars
Season 7

Leave a Reply