The American Society Of Cinematographers released their nominees today, mixed with a few surprises. Newton Thomas Sigel, ASC was probably the biggest surprise, getting nominated for his recent work on the Russo Brothers’ latest film “Cherry,” which was critically panned. Not a surprise were the front-runners Joshua James Richards (“Nomadland”) and Erik Messerschmidt (“Mank”) getting nominations. Expect to see their names on Oscar nomination morning. The other feature categories may have shed some light on the Best International Feature and Best Documentary Feature categories, as it does seem like the more visually striking films of the two categories are usually recognized by the Academy. Think “Cold War,” which ended up in the International and Cinematography categories. This year, “Dear Comrades!” and “Two Of Us” were nominated by the ASC, which may give them an edge. “Gunda,” “Notturno,” and “The Truffle Hunters” are all on the Oscars shortlist for Best Documentary so whether the visuals of those films help them get nominated will have to be seen.


Feature Film

Newton Thomas Sigel, ASC

Erik Messerschmidt, ASC

“News of the World
Dariusz Wolski, ASC

Joshua James Richards

“The Trial of the Chicago 7”
Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC


“Dear Comrades!
Andrey Naydenov

Katelin Arizmendi

“Two of Us
Aurélien Marra


Victor Kossakovsky & Egil Håskjold Larsen

Gianfranco Rosi

“The Truffle Hunters”
Michael Dweck & Gregory Kershaw


Motion Picture, Limited Series, or Pilot Made for Television

Episode: “The Birthplace of Civilization”
Pete Konczal

“The Great”
Episode: “The Great”
Anette Haellmigk

“The Plot Against America
Episode: “Part 6”
Martin Ahlgren, ASC

“The Queen’s Gambit
Episode: “End Game”
Steven Meizler

Episode: “This Extraordinary Being
Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC

Episode of a One-Hour Television Series – Commercial

Better Call Saul
Episode: “Bag Man”
Marshall Adams, ASC

“Killing Eve
Episode: “Meetings Have Biscuits”
Carlos Catalán

“Motherland: Fort Salem
Episode: “Up is Down”
Jon Joffin, ASC

“Project Blue Book”
Episode: “Area 51”
François Dagenais, CSC

“Project Blue Book”
Episode: “Operation Mainbrace”
C. Kim Miles, ASC, CSC, MySC

Episode of a One-Hour Television Series – Non-Commercial

“The Crown”
Episode: “Fairytale
Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC, BSC

“The Crown
Episode: “Imbroglio
Fabian Wagner, ASC, BSC

Episode: “The Moroi
David Greene, ASC, CSC

Episode: “It Never Ends Well for the Chicken
Ken Glassing

“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”
Episode: “It’s Comedy or Cabbage
M. David Mullen, ASC

“Perry Mason”
Episode: “Chapter 2
David Franco

Episode of a Half-Hour Television Series

Episode: “Giant”
Jas Shelton

Episode: “Lowkey Lost”

Ava Berkofsky

“The Mandalorian”
Episode: “Chapter 1: The Mandalorian”
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS

“The Mandalorian”
Episode: “Chapter 13: The Jedi”

Baz Idoine

“The Mandalorian”
Episode: “Chapter 15: The Believer”

Matthew Jensen, ASC

Leave a Reply