We’re still over a month away from the Oscars, but tonight, we got another piece of the puzzle. The Producers Guild announced their winners, with “Nomadland” taking the top prize. The groundswell around director Chloé Zhao was apparent, but the Best Picture narrative was still pretty undetermined. “The Trial of the Chicago 7” has all the precursory wins that generally lead to a Best Picture win. But then, Aaron Sorkin missed a Best Director nomination. With “Promising Young Woman” set to win in the Best Original Screenplay category over “The Trial of the Chicago 7,” that leaves the film with very little to win. Meanwhile, “Nomadland” takes the Outstanding Producer award here and all the headlines.

“Soul” won in the Animated category, with no real surprise there. The Pixar film is on its way to winning the Academy Award. “My Octopus Teacher” won in the Documentary category. “Time” was the only other Oscar nominee in the bunch. Whether that win puts “Octopus” out front, I do not know. “Collective” and “Time” still feel like the better films. On the television side, “The Crown” and “The Queen’s Gambit” continued their season sweeps. And, “Schitt’s Creek” was honored in its final season in the Comedy category. Even “Hamilton” took home an award for Outstanding Producing for a Streamed or Televised Movie. With two more stops on the Guild train before the Oscars, the next one is the Screen Actors Guild Awards on April 4.


Darryl F. Zanuck Award
for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures


Produced by
Mollye Asher | Dan Janvey | Frances McDormand | Peter Spears | Chloé Zhao
Searchlight Pictures


“Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”
Sacha Baron Cohen
Monica Levinson
Anthony Hines
(Amazon Studios)

“Judas and the Black Messiah”
Charles D. King
Ryan Coogler
Shaka King
(Warner Bros Pictures)

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”
Denzel Washington
Todd Black

Ceán Chaffin
Eric Roth
Douglas Urbanski

Christina Oh

“One Night in Miami”
Jess Wu Calder
Keith Calder
Jody Klein
(Amazon Studios)

“Promising Young Woman”
Josey McNamara
Ben Browning
Ashley Fox
Emerald Fennell
(Focus Features)

“Sound of Metal”
Bert Hamelinck
Sacha Ben Harroche
(Amazon Studios)

The Trial of the Chicago 7
Marc Platt
Stuart Besser

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures


Produced by Dana Murray
Pixar Animation


“The Croods: A New Age”
Mark Swift
(DreamWorks Animation)

Kori Rae

“Over the Moon”
Gennie Rim
Peilin Chou

Paul Young
Nora Twomey
Tomm Moore
Stéphan Roelants
(Apple TV Plus/GKIDS)

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Picture

“My Octopus Teacher”

Produced by Craig Foster


“David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet”

“Dick Johnson Is Dead”


“A Thousand Cuts”

(Amazon Studios)

“The Truffle Hunters”
(Sony Pictures Classics)


Norman Felton Award
for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – drama

“The Crown”
Season 4

Produced by
Peter Morgan | Suzanne Mackie | Stephen Daldry | Andy Harries | Benjamin Caron | Matthew Byam Shaw
Robert Fox | Michael Casey | Andy Stebbing | Martin Harrison | Oona O’Beirn


“Better Call Saul”
Season 5
*Eligibility determination pending*

Season 1
*Eligibility determination pending*

“The Mandalorian”
Season 2
Jon Favreau
Dave Filoni
Kathleen Kennedy
Colin Wilson
Karen Gilchrist
John Bartnicki
Carrie Beck
(Disney Plus)

Season 3
Jason Bateman
Chris Mundy
Bill Dubuque
Mark Williams
Patrick Markey
John Shiban
Miki Johnson
Matthew Spiegel
Erin Mitchell
Martin Zimmerman
Peter Thorell

Danny Thomas Award
for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy

“Schitt’s Creek”
(Season 6)

Produced by
Eugene Levy | Daniel Levy | Andrew Barnsley | Fred Levy | David West Read | Ben Feigin | Michael Short | Kurt Smeaton | Kosta Orfanidis
Pop TV


“Curb Your Enthusiasm”
Season 10
*Eligibility determination pending*

“The Flight Attendant”
Season 1
Greg Berlanti
Kaley Cuoco
Steve Yockey
Meredith Lavender
Marcie Ullin
Sarah Schechter
Suzanne McCormack
Jess Meyer
Raymond Quinlan
Jennifer Lence
Erika Kennair
(HBO Max)

“Ted Lasso”
Season 1
Bill Lawrence
Jason Sudeikis
Jeff Ingold
Bill Wrubel
Liza Katzer
Jane Becker
Jamie Lee
Kip Kroeger
Brendan Hunt
Tina Pawlik
Joe Kelly
(Apple TV Plus)

“What We Do in the Shadows”
Season 2
Jemaine Clement
Taika Waititi
Paul Simms
Scott Rudin
Garrett Basch
Eli Bush
Stefani Robinson
Sam Johnson
Marika Sawyer
Derek S. Rappaport

David L. Wolper Award
for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television

“The Queen’s Gambit”

Produced by
William Horberg | Allan Scott | Scott Frank | Marcus Loges | Mick Aniceto


“I May Destroy You”
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Normal People”
Lenny Abrahamson
Sally Rooney
Ed Guiney
Andrew Lowe
Emma Norton
Anna Ferguson
Catherine Magee

“The Undoing”
Susanne Bier
David E. Kelley
Per Saari
Nicole Kidman
Bruna Papandrea
Stephen Garrett
Celia Costas
Deb Dyer

Anna Winger
Henning Kamm
Alexa Karolinksi

Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures


Produced by
Thomas Kail | Lin-Manuel Miranda | Jeffrey Seller
Disney Plus


“Bad Education”
Fred Berger
Eddie Vaisman

“Dolly Parton’s Christmas on the Square“
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Jane Goodall: The Hope“
*Eligibility determination pending*
(National Geographic)

“What the Constitution Means To Me“
*Eligibility determination pending*
(Amazon Studios)

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

“The Last Dance”
Season 1



“60 Minutes”
Season 53
Bill Owens

“Laurel Canyon”
*Eligibility determination pending*

Season 1
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Tiger King: Murder, Mayhem and Madness”
*Eligibility determination pending*

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

“Last Week Tonight with John Oliver”
Season 7



“8:46 – Dave Chappelle (Special)”
*Eligibility determination pending*

“The Daily Show with Trevor Noah”
Season 26
*Eligibility determination pending*
(Comedy Central)

“The Late Show with Stephen Colbert”
Season 6
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Saturday Night Live”
Season 46
*Eligibility determination pending*

Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

“RuPaul’s Drag Race”
(Season 12)



“The Amazing Race”
Season 32
Jerry Bruckheimer
Bertram van Munster
Jonathan Littman
Elise Doganieri
Mark Vertullo
Phil Keoghan

“The Masked Singer”
Season 3-4
*Eligibility determination pending*

“Nailed It!”
Season 4
*Eligibility determination pending*

“The Voice”
Season 18-19
*Eligibility determination pending*

Outstanding Producer of Short-Form Program

“Carpool Karaoke: The Series”
Season 3

Apple TV


“Better Call Saul: Employee Training: Legal Ethics w/Kim Wexler
Season 3

“The Daily Show: Between The Scenes
Season 5

“Inside Pixar: Inspired
Season 1

“SNL Presents: Stories from the Show
Season 1

Outstanding Producer of Sports Program

“Defying Gravity: The Untold Story of Women’s Gymnastics”
Season 1

YouTube Originals


“Hard Knocks: Los Angeles”
(HBO Max)

Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel
Season 26

“Seeing America with Megan Rapinoe”
(HBO Max)

“The Shop: UNINTERRUPTED Featuring President Barack Obama”

Outstanding Producer of Children’s Program

“The Power of We”
“A Sesame Street Special”



“The Animaniacs”
Season 1

“Carmen Sandiego”
Season 3

“Looney Tunes Cartoons
Season 1

“Star Wars: The Clone Wars
Season 7

Leave a Reply