The Society of Composers and Lyricists announced their award nominees today. Eight of the ten feature scores are still in contention, with Hans Zimmer’s “Dune” score and Jonny Greenwood’s “Spencer” score likely the front-runners in their respective categories. In the Original Song categories, five of the ten songs have been shortlisted by the Academy. “Just Look Up” from “Don’t Look Up” has to land on some radars for getting an Oscar nomination now, as does “Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)” from “Respect.” Diane Warren grabbed two nominations, despite only her “Four Good Days” song being the only one still in contention for the Oscars. However, Billie Eilish’s “No Time To Die” has to be the front-runner.

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film

“Don’t Look Up”
Nicholas Britell

Hans Zimmer
(Warner Bros Pictures)

Germaine Franco
(Walt Disney Pictures)

“The French Dispatch”
Alexandre Desplat
(Searchlight Pictures)

“The Power of the Dog”
Jonny Greenwood

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film

“American Traitor: The Trial of Axis Sally”
Kubilay Uner
(Vertical Entertainment)

“The Green Knight”
Daniel Hart

Rachel Portman
(Sony Pictures Classics)

“Parallel Mothers”
Alberto Iglesias
(Sony Pictures Classics)

Jonny Greenwood

Outstanding Original Score for a Television Production

Natalie Holt

“Squid Game”
Jung Jae-il

Nicholas Britell

Christophe Beck

“The White Lotus”
Cristobal Tapia de Veer

Outstanding Original Song for a Comedy or Musical Visual Media Production

“Together All The Way”
from “Dear White People”
Kris Bowers
Siedah Garrett

“Just Look Up”
from “Don’t Look Up”
Nicholas Britell
Taura Stinson
Ariana Grande
Scott Mescudi)


“Home All Summer”
from “In The Heights”
Lin-Manuel Miranda
(Warner Bros Pictures)

“Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)”
from “Respect”
Jamie Hartman
Jennifer Hudson
Carole King

from “Spirit Untamed”
Amie Doherty

Outstanding Original Song for a Dramatic or Documentary Visual Media Production

“Somehow You Do”
from “Four Good Days”
Diane Warren
(Vertical Entertainment)

“Guns Go Bang”
from “The Harder They Fall”
Jeymes Samuel
Shawn Carter
Scott Mescudi


“(Never Gonna) Tame You”
from “The Mustangs: America’s Wild Horses”
Diane Warren
(Virgil Films)

“No Time To Die”
from “No Time To Die”
Billie Eilish
Finneas O’Connell

“Secret Sister”
from “Rebel Hearts”
Rufus Wainwright

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media

“Alien Fireteam Elite”
Austin Wintory
(Cold Iron Studios)

“Battlefield 2042”
Hildur Guđnadóttir

Sam Slater

“Kung Fu Panda: Land of Awesomeness”
Germaine Franco
(Universal Beijing Resort)

David Raksin Award for Emerging Talent

Joy Ngiaw

Anne-Kathrin Dern
“The Claus Family”

Stephanie Economou
“Jupiter’s Legacy”

Spirit of Collaboration Award

Carter Burwell
with Joel Coen & Ethan Coen

Leave a Reply