The Australian Academy of Cinema & Television Arts announced all their International Award winners. Who should win for Best Picture but the critical darling “The Power of the Dog.” Benedict Cumberbatch and Kodi Smit-McPhee also won for their performances, but Jane Campion missed out for Best Direction and Screenplay. Nicole Kidman and Aaron Sorkin were both awarded for “Being the Ricardos” while Judi Dench won her first award for her supporting role in “Belfast.”

AACTA International Award for Best Film

“The Power of the Dog”

Directed by Jane Campion
Produced by Emile Sherman, Iain Canning, Roger Frappier, Jane Campion, and Tanya Seghatchian

“Being The Ricardos” (Amazon Studios)
“Belfast” (Focus Features)
“Dune” (Warner Bros. Pictures)
“Licorice Pizza” (MGM)
“Nitram” (IFC Films)

Best Direction in Film

Denis Villeneuve

Produced by Mary Parent, Denis Villeneuve, Cale Boyter, and Joe Caracciolo Jr.
Warner Bros. Pictures

Paul Thomas Anderson — “Licorice Pizza” (MGM)
Kenneth Branagh — “Belfast” (Focus Features)
Jane Campion — “The Power of the Dog” (Netflix)
Justin Kurzel — “Nitram” (IFC Films)

Best Lead Actor in Film

Benedict Cumberbatch
“The Power of the Dog”

Directed by Jane Campion

Andrew Garfield — “Tick, Tick… Boom!” (Netflix)
Caleb Landry Jones — “Nitram” (IFC Films)
Denzel Washington — “The Tragedy of Macbeth” (A24)
Will Smith — “King Richard” (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Best Lead Actress in Film

“Nicole Kidman”
“Being the Ricardos”

Directed by Aaron Sorkin
Amazon Studios

Penélope Cruz — “Parallel Mothers” (Sony Pictures Classics)
Lady Gaga — “House Of Gucci” (MGM)
Jennifer Hudson — “Respect” (MGM)
Kristen Stewart — “Spencer” (Neon)

Best Supporting Actor in Film

Kodi Smit-McPhee
“The Power of the Dog”

Directed by Jane Campion

Bradley Cooper — “Licorice Pizza” (MGM)
Jamie Dornan — “Belfast” (Focus Features)
Ciarán Hinds — “Belfast” (Focus Features)
Al Pacino — “House Of Gucci” (MGM)

Best Supporting Actress in Film

Judi Dench

Directed by Kenneth Branagh
Focus Features

Caitríona Balfe — “Belfast” (Focus Features)
Cate Blanchett — “Don’t Look Up” (Netflix)
Kirsten Dunst — “The Power of the Dog” (Netflix)
Sally Hawkins — “Spencer” (Neon)

Best Screenplay in Film

“Being the Ricardos”

Written by Aaron Sorkin
Amazon Studios

“Belfast” — Kenneth Branagh (Focus Features)
“Licorice Pizza” — Paul Thomas Anderson (MGM)
“Nitram” — Shaun Grant (IFC Films)
“The Power of the Dog” — Jane Campion (Netflix)


Best Drama Series


Created by Jesse Armstrong

“The Handmaid’s Tale” (Hulu)
“Maid” (Netflix)
“Mare Of Easttown” (HBO)
“Nine Perfect Strangers” (Hulu)
“Squid Game” (Netflix)

Best Comedy Series

“The White Lotus”

Created by Mike White

“The Great” (Hulu)
“Hacks” (Amazon Studios)
“The Kominsky Method” (Netflix)
“Sex Education” (Netflix)
“Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)

Best Actor in a Series

Murray Bartlett
“The White Lotus”

Created by Mike White

Lee Jung-jae — “Squid Game” (Netflix)
Ewan McGregor — “Halston” (Netflix)
Jeremy Strong — “Succession” (HBO)
Jason Sudeikis — “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)

Best Actress in a Series

Kate Winslet
“Mare of Easttown”

Created by Brad Ingelsby

Jennifer Coolidge — “The White Lotus” (HBO)
Nicole Kidman — “Nice Perfect Strangers” (Hulu)
Jean Smart — “Hacks” (HBO)
Sarah Snook — “Succession” (HBO)

Leave a Reply