Best Feature

Aftersun • A24
Charlotte Wells, director
Adele Romanski, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Mark Ceryak, producers

The Cathedral • MUBI
Ricky D’Ambrose, director
Graham Swon, producer

Dos Estaciones • Cinema Guild
Juan Pablo González, director
Ilana Coleman, Jamie Gonçalves, Bruna Haddad, Makena Buchanan, producers

Everything Everywhere All At Once • A24
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, directors
Joe Russo, Anthony Russo, Mike Larocca, Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, Jonathan Wang, producers

Tár • Focus Features
Todd Field, director
Alexandra Milchan, Scott Lambert, Todd Field, producers

Best Documentary Feature

All That Breathes • A Sideshow & Submarine Deluxe Release in Association with HBO Documentary Films
Shaunak Sen, director
Aman Mann, Shaunak Sen, Teddy Leifer, producers

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed • NEON
Laura Poitras, director
Howard Gertler, John Lyons, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, Laura Poitras, producers

I Didn’t See You There • RePort Media
Reid Davenport, director
Keith Wilson, producer

The Territory • National Geographic Documentary Films
Alex Pritz, director
Alex Pritz, Darren Aronofsky, Sigrid Dyekjær, Will N. Miller, Gabriel Uchida, Lizzie Gillett, producers

What We Leave Behind • ARRAY
Iliana Sosa, director
Emma D. Miller, Isidore Bethel, producers

Best International Feature

Athena • Netflix
Romain Gavras, director
Romain Gavras, Charles-Marie Anthonioz, Mourad Belkeddar, Jean Duhamel, Nicolas Lhermitte, Ladj Ly, producers

The Banshees of Inisherin • Searchlight Pictures
Martin McDonagh, director
Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh, producers

Corsage • IFC Films
Marie Kreutzer, director
Alexander Glehr, Johanna Scherz, Bernard Michaux, Jonas Dornbach, Janine Jackowski, Maren Ade, Jean-Christophe Reymond, producers

Decision to Leave • MUBI
Park Chan-wook, director and producer

Happening • IFC Films
Audrey Diwan, director
Edouard Weil, Alice Girard producers

Saint Omer • Super LTD
Alice Diop, director
Toufik Ayadi, Christophe Barral, producers

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Charlotte Wells • Aftersun

Owen Kline • Funny Pages

Elegance BrattonThe Inspection

Antoneta Alamat KusijanovicMurina
Kino Lorber

Beth de AraújoSoft & Quiet
Momentum Pictures / eOne

Jane SchoenbrunWe’re All Going to the World’s Fair

Best Screenplay

After YangA24
Kogonada, written by

Armageddon TimeFocus Features
James Gray, written by

Catherine Called BirdyAmazon Studios
Lena Dunham, written by
based upon the book by Karen Cushman

TárFocus Features
Todd Field, written by

Women TalkingUnited Artists Releasing / Orion Pictures
Sarah Polley, written by
based upon the book by Miriam Toews

Outstanding Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett
Focus Features

Danielle Deadwyler
United Artists Releasing / Orion Pictures

Dale Dickey
A Love Song
Bleecker Street

Colin Farrell
After Yang

Brendan Fraser
The Whale

Paul Mescal

Thandiwe Newton
God’s Country
IFC Films

Aubrey Plaza
Emily the Criminal
Roadside Attractions and Vertical Entertainment

Taylor Russell
Bones and All
United Artists Releasing / Metro Goldwyn Mayer Pictures

Michelle Yeoh
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Outstanding Supporting Performance

Jessie Buckley
Women Talking
United Artists Releasing / Orion Pictures

Raúl Castillo
The Inspection

Hong Chau
The Whale

Brian Tyree Henry
Apple TV+

Nina Hoss
Focus Features

Noémie Merlant
Focus Features

Ke Huy Quan
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Mark Rylance
Bones and All
United Artists Releasing / Metro Goldwyn Mayer Pictures

Gabrielle Union
The Inspection

Ben Whishaw
Women Talking
United Artists Releasing / Orion Pictures

Breakthrough Performer

Anna Cobb
We’re All Going to the World’s Fair

Frankie Corio

Anna Diop
Amazon Studios and Blumhouse

Gracija Filipovic
Kino Lorber

Kali Reis
Catch the Fair One
IFC Films


Breakthrough Series
Short Format (under 40 minutes)

Abbott Elementary • ABC
Quinta Brunson, creator
Quinta Brunson, Justin Halpern, Patrick Schumaker, Randall Einhorn, executive producers

As We See It • Prime Video
Jason Katims, creator;
Jason Katims, Jeni Mulein, Dana Idisis, Yuval Shafferman, Udi Segal, Amit Gitelzon, Shlomit Arvis, Danna Stern, executive producers

Mo • Netflix
Mohammed Amer, Ramy Youssef, creators
Mohammed Amer, Ramy Youssef, Ravi Nandan, Hallie Sekoff, Solvan “Slick” Naim, Harris Danow, Luvh Rakhe, executive producers

Rap Sh!t • HBO Max
Issa Rae, creator
Issa Rae, Syreeta Singleton, Montrel McKay, Deniese Davis, Dave Becky, Jonathan Berry, executive producers

Somebody Somewhere • HBO Max
Hannah Bos, Paul Thureen, creators
Bridget Everett, Carolyn Strauss, Mark Duplass, Jay Duplass, Mel Eslyn, Hannah Bos, Paul Thureen, Patricia Breen, Tyler Romary, executive producers

Breakthrough Series
Long Format (over 40 minutes)

Pachinko • Apple TV+
Soo Hugh, creator
Soo Hugh, Michael Ellenberg, Lindsey Springer, Theresa Kang-Lowe, Richard Middleton, Kogonada, Justin Cho, executive producers

Severance • Apple TV+
Dan Erickson, creator
Ben Stiller, Nicholas Weinstock, Jackie Cohn, Mark Friedman, Dan Erickson, Andrew Colville, Chris Black, John Cameron, executive producers

Station Eleven • HBO Max
Patrick Somerville, creator
Patrick Somerville, Jessica Rhoades, Scott Steindorff, Dylan Russell, Scott Delman, Jeremy Podeswa, Hiro Murai, Nate Matteson, executive producers

This is Going to Hurt • AMC+ in association with BBC
Adam Kay, creator
Naomi De Pear, James Farrell, Jane Featherstone, Adam Kay, Ben Whishaw, executive producers

Yellowjackets • Showtime
Ashley Lyle, Bart Nickerson, creators
Jonathan Lisco, Ashley Lyle, Bart Nickerson, Drew Comins, Karyn Kusama, executive producers

Outstanding Performance in a New Series

Bilal Baig
Sort Of


Ayo Edebiri
The Bear


Janelle James
Abbott Elementary


Minha Kim

Apple TV+

Matilda Lawler
Station Eleven


Britt Lower

Apple TV+

Melanie Lynskey


Zahn McClarnon
Dark Winds


Sue Ann Pien
As We See It

Prime Video

Ben Whishaw
This is Going to Hurt

AMC+ in association with BBC

Breakthrough Nonfiction Series

The Andy Warhol Diaries • Netflix
Alexis Martin Woodall, Scott Robertson, Andrew Rossi, Stanley Buchthal, Josh Braun, Ryan Murphy, executive producers
Maya E. Rudolph, producer
Andrew Rossi, director

The Last Movie Stars • HBO Max
Martin Scorsese, Amy Entelis, Courtney Sexton, executive producers
Adam Gibbs, Ryan Hawke, Emily Wachtel, Lisa Long Adler, producers
Ethan Hawke, director

Mind over Murder • HBO Max
Nanfu Wang, creator and director
Marc Smerling, Nanfu Wang, Max Heckman, Chad Mumm, Mark W. Olsen, Nancy Abraham, Lisa Heller, Sara Rodriguez, executive producers

The Rehearsal • HBO Max
Nathan Fielder, creator and director
Nathan Fielder, Dave Paige, Dan McManus, Christie Smith, executive producers

We Need To Talk About Cosby • Showtime
W. Kamau Bell, creator and director
W. Kamau Bell, Andrew Fried, Katie A. King, Vinnie Malhotra, Dane Lillegard, Sarina Roma, Jordan Wynn, executive producers

About the Gotham Awards

The Gotham Awards, one of the leading honors for independent film and television, provides early acknowledgement to groundbreaking independent films and television series. Selected by distinguished juries and presented in New York City, the home of independent film, the Gotham Awards are the first honors of the film awards season. This public showcase honors the filmmaking community, expands the audience for independent films, and supports the work that The Gotham Film & Media Institute does behind the scenes throughout the year to bring such films to fruition.

Leave a Reply