Another day, another Critics Awards giving Best Picture to a different film, making it five different Best Pictures now. “Get Out” nabs this one along with Best Original Screenplay. But the Washington D.C. Area critics offer our first glimpse at some strong contenders that were yet to be seen this awards season. Christopher Nolan wins for his directing of “Dunkirk” and Gary Oldman finally gets his first award of the season with his performance in “Darkest Hour.” Frances McDormand grabs another acting award for “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” while Sam Rockwell steals his first Supporting award away from Willem Dafoe. “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” also grabs the Best Acting Ensemble. “Coco” continues to get some love, also giving it to the voice of the young boy in the film, voiced by Anthony Gonzalez. “Jane” grabs another documentary award and “BPM (Beats Per Minute)” grabs another foreign-language award. “Blade Runner 2049” took home three technical awards, production design, cinematography, and original score while “Baby Driver” took editing. And “The Post” took home their honorary award for Best Portrayal of Washington D.C. Knowing that Nolan and Oldman will both likely get Oscar nominations, it is nice to finally see them pop up with some critics love as well.

Best Film: “Get Out”
Best Director: Christopher Nolan – “Dunkirk”
Best Actor: Gary Oldman – “Darkest Hour”
Best Actress: Frances McDormand – “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell – “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf – “Lady Bird”
Best Acting Ensemble: “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Best Youth Performance: Brooklynn Prince – “The Florida Project”
Best Voice Performance: Anthony Gonzalez – “Coco”
Best Motion Capture Performance: Andy Serkis – “War for the Planet of the Apes”
Best Original Screenplay: “Get Out” – Jordan Peele
Best Adapted Screenplay: “Mudbound” – Virgil Williams and Dee Rees
Best Animated Feature: “Coco”
Best Documentary: “Jane”
Best Foreign Language Film: “BPM (Beats Per Minute)”
Best Production Design: “Blade Runner 2049” – Dennis Gassner & Alessandra Querzola
Best Cinematography: “Blade Runner 2049” – Roger A. Deakins, ASC, BSC
Best Editing: “Baby Driver” – Paul Machliss, ACE & Jonathan Amos, ACE
Best Original Score: “Blade Runner 2049” – Hans Zimmer and Benjamin Wallfisch
The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC: “The Post”

Leave a Reply