The big news today is that the huge list of films with visual effects has been narrowed down to just 10:

  • “The Amazing Spider-Man”
  • “Cloud Atlas”
  • “The Dark Knight Rises”
  • “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”
  • “John Carter”
  • “Life of Pi”
  • “Marvel’s The Avengers”
  • “Prometheus”
  • “Skyfall”
  • “Snow White and the Huntsman”

The next step includes the Visual Effects Branch of the Academy sitting down on January 3rd and watching 10-minute snippets of each film and then cutting the list down to the five that will be nominated. And, as we all have marked on our calendars, the Academy Awards nominations are announced live on January 10th, 2013.

My gut tells me this is what the final five will look like:

“Cloud Atlas”, “The Dark Knight Rises”, “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”, “Life Of Pi”, and “Marvel’s The Avengers”.

However, I will hold onto hopes that “The Amazing Spider-Man”, “Prometheus”, and “Skyfall” could possible break-through. Also, interesting to add, “The Impossible” didn’t make the cut, despite “Hereafter” and its similar visual effects that were nominated that year (2011). I guess that’s what happens without Clint Eastwood behind it.

Leave a Reply