Good thing we got our “Snowpiercer” and “A Most Violent Year” wins early because we are about to settle in for the long haul with “Boyhood” bringing home all the Best Film of the Year lists. Richard Linklater and Patricia Arquette join it in the winner’s circle, as even Ellar Coltrane who plays the title character grabs an award for Best Youth Performance. “Birdman” also cleans up with another win for Michael Keaton in Best Actor, another win for cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki, basically locking his Oscar nomination now, and even taking Best Editing this time around. Director Alejandro G. Iñárritu also gets a win for Best Screenplay. “The Lego Movie” and “Life Itself” sneak back in for more wins, knocking out the other animated competitors and “CitizenFour”. The most notable win goes to Gillian Flynn in her adaptation of her own book, “Gone Girl,” which many are predicting will have very little impact at the Oscars this year, to which I slightly disagree, believing Rosamund Pike, the original score, and the adapted screenplay could get noticed. Here is the official list for the Washington DC Film Critics Association Awards:

Best Film: “Boyhood”
Best Director: Richard Linklater (“Boyhood”)
Best Actor: Michael Keaton (“Birdman”)
Best Actress: Julianne Moore (“Still Alice”)
Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons (“Whiplash”)
Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette (“Boyhood”)
Best Acting Ensemble: “Birdman”
Best Youth Performance: Ellar Coltrane (“Boyhood”)
Best Adapted Screenplay: Gillian Flynn (“Gone Girl”)
Best Original Screenplay: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr., Armando Bo (“Birdman”)
Best Animated Feature: “The LEGO Movie”
Best Documentary: “Life Itself”
Best Foreign Language Film: “Force Majeure”
Best Art Direction: Production Designer: Adam Stockhausen, Set Decorator: Anna Pinnock (“The Grand Budapest Hotel”)
Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC (“Birdman”)
Best Editing: Douglas Crise, Stephen Mirrione, ACE (“Birdman”)
Best Original Score: Mica Levi (“Under the Skin”)
The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC: “Captain America: The Winter Soldier”

Leave a Reply