One more win for “Boyhood” tells us what we already know, that Linklater’s 12 year darling will be the belle of the ball at the Oscars this year, with “Birdman” coming from behind with some likely technical wins. Jake Gyllenhaal continues to teeter on an Oscar nomination with yet another critics win in Houston, but there is no telling if he will be able to beat out some of the other highlight performances this year.

Here is the official list for the Houston Film Critics Society Awards:

Best Picture – “Boyhood”
Best Director – Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”
Best Actor – Jake Gyllenhaal, “Nightcrawler”
Best Actress – Julianne Moore, “Still Alice”
Best Supporting Actor – J.K. Simmons, “Whiplash”
Best Supporting Actress – Patricia Arquette, “Boyhood”
Best Screenplay – Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”
Best Animated Film – “The LEGO Movie”
Best Cinematography – Emmanuel Lubezki, “Birdman”
Best Documentary – “Citizenfour”
Best Foreign Film – “Force Majeure”
Best Original Score – Alexandre Desplat, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Best Original Song – “Everything is Awesome” by Shawn Patterson and Joshua Bartholomew & Lisa Harriton and The Lonely Island, for “The LEGO Movie”
Best Poster Design – Annie Atkins for “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Worst Picture – “The Identical”
Texas Independent Film Award – “Boyhood”
Humanitarian Award – Joe Hall, Ghetto Film School
Lifetime Achievement Award – Larry McMurtry
Outstanding Achievement – Rick Ferguson and the Houston Film Commission
Technical Achievement – “Boyhood”

Leave a Reply