The 2018-2019 Oscar Season is officially upon us, as 93 countries have submitted their entries into the newly dubbed Best International Feature Film category for the 92nd Academy Awards. Among the entries are front-runners like “Pain and Glory,” which debuted in America last weekend and “Parasite,” which has been receiving rave reviews and has its American debut this upcoming weekend. Animated films “Weathering With You,” “Retablo,” and “Ne Zha” could stand out because of their altered mediums or other films that have seen American releases, like “Furie,” “Ága,” or “Gully Boy” could have a leg up because Academy members have been more exposed to them. There’s also a handful of releases, like “The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind,” which was directed by Academy Award nominated actor Chiwetel Ejiofor or “Dear Ex” that are currently available on Netflix and could also find a wider audience. Never underestimate films with recognizable stars, like “Instinct,” which stars Carice van Houten or “Out Stealing Horses,” which stars Stellan Skarsgård.

Eventually these 93 features will be whittled down to nine and from there, five of them will end up with an Academy Award nomination. Gun to my head right now, if I had to pick five, they’d be:

  • South Korea, “Parasite,” Bong Joon Ho
  • United Kingdom, “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind,” Chiwetel Ejiofor
  • Netherlands, “Instinct,” Halina Reijn
  • Mexico, “The Chambermaid,” Lila Avilés
  • Iceland, “A White, White Day,” Hlynur Pálmason

Sight unseen, “Parasite” has the most buzz around it and if it starts showing up in the Critics Awards for their Best International Feature of the Year, then you can start to assume that it is the front-runner for the Oscars as well.

Here’s the full list:

  1. Albania, “The Delegation,” Bujar Alimani
  2. Algeria, “Papicha,” Mounia Meddour
  3. Argentina, “Heroic Losers,” Sebastián Borensztein
  4. Armenia, “Lengthy Night,” Edgar Baghdasaryan
  5. Australia, “Buoyancy,” Rodd Rathjen
  6. Austria, “Joy,” Sudabeh Mortezai
  7. Bangladesh, “Alpha,” Nasiruddin Yousuff
  8. Belarus, “Debut,” Anastasiya Miroshnichenko
  9. Belgium, “Our Mothers,” César Díaz
  10. Bolivia, “I Miss You,” Rodrigo Bellott
  11. Bosnia and Herzegovina, “The Son,” Ines Tanovic
  12. Brazil, “Invisible Life,” Karim Aïnouz
  13. Bulgaria, “Ága,” Milko Lazarov
  14. Cambodia, “In the Life of Music,” Caylee So, Sok Visal
  15. Canada, “Antigone,” Sophie Deraspe
  16. Chile, “Spider,” Andrés Wood
  17. China, “Ne Zha,” Yu Yang
  18. Colombia, “Monos,” Alejandro Landes
  19. Costa Rica, “The Awakening of the Ants,” Antonella Sudasassi Furniss
  20. Croatia, “Mali,” Antonio Nuic
  21. Cuba, “A Translator,” Rodrigo Barriuso, Sebastián Barriuso
  22. Czech Republic, “The Painted Bird,” Václav Marhoul
  23. Denmark, “Queen of Hearts,” May el-Toukhy
  24. Dominican Republic, “The Projectionist,” José María Cabral
  25. Ecuador, “The Longest Night,” Gabriela Calvache
  26. Egypt, “Poisonous Roses,” Ahmed Fawzi Saleh
  27. Estonia, “Truth and Justice,” Tanel Toom
  28. Ethiopia, “Running against the Wind,” Jan Philipp Weyl
  29. Finland, “Stupid Young Heart,” Selma Vilhunen
  30. France, “Les Misérables,” Ladj Ly
  31. Georgia, “Shindisi,” Dimitri Tsintsadze
  32. Germany, “System Crasher,” Nora Fingscheidt
  33. Ghana, “Azali,” Kwabena Gyansah
  34. Greece, “When Tomatoes Met Wagner,” Marianna Economou
  35. Honduras, “Blood, Passion, and Coffee,” Carlos Membreño
  36. Hong Kong, “The White Storm 2 Drug Lords,” Herman Yau
  37. Hungary, “Those Who Remained,” Barnabás Tóth
  38. Iceland, “A White, White Day,” Hlynur Pálmason
  39. India, “Gully Boy,” Zoya Akhtar
  40. Indonesia, “Memories of My Body,” Garin Nugroho
  41. Iran, “Finding Farideh,” Azadeh Moussavi, Kourosh Ataee
  42. Ireland, “Gaza,” Garry Keane, Andrew McConnell
  43. Israel, “Incitement,” Yaron Zilberman
  44. Italy, “The Traitor,” Marco Bellocchio
  45. Japan, “Weathering with You,” Makoto Shinkai
  46. Kazakhstan, “Kazakh Khanate. The Golden Throne,” Rustem Abdrashov
  47. Kenya, “Subira,” Ravneet Singh (Sippy) Chadha
  48. Kosovo, “Zana,” Antoneta Kastrati
  49. Kyrgyzstan, “Aurora,” Bekzat Pirmatov
  50. Latvia, “The Mover,” Davis Simanis
  51. Lebanon, “1982,” Oualid Mouaness
  52. Lithuania, “Bridges of Time,” Audrius Stonys, Kristine Briede
  53. Luxembourg, “Tel Aviv on Fire,” Sameh Zoabi
  54. Malaysia, “M for Malaysia,” Dian Lee, Ineza Roussille
  55. Mexico, “The Chambermaid,” Lila Avilés
  56. Mongolia, “The Steed,” Erdenebileg Ganbold
  57. Montenegro, “Neverending Past,” Andro Martinović
  58. Morocco, “Adam,” Maryam Touzani
  59. Nepal, “Bulbul,” Binod Paudel
  60. Netherlands, “Instinct,” Halina Reijn
  61. Nigeria, “Lionheart,” Genevieve Nnaji
  62. North Macedonia, “Honeyland,” Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska
  63. Norway, “Out Stealing Horses,” Hans Petter Moland
  64. Pakistan, “Laal Kabootar,” Kamal Khan
  65. Palestine, “It Must Be Heaven,” Elia Suleiman
  66. Panama, “Everybody Changes,” Arturo Montenegro
  67. Peru, “Retablo,” Alvaro Delgado Aparicio
  68. Philippines, “Verdict,” Raymund Ribay Gutierrez
  69. Poland, “Corpus Christi,” Jan Komasa
  70. Portugal, “The Domain,” Tiago Guedes
  71. Romania, “The Whistlers,” Corneliu Porumboiu
  72. Russia, “Beanpole,” Kantemir Balagov
  73. Saudi Arabia, “The Perfect Candidate,” Haifaa Al Mansour
  74. Senegal, “Atlantics,” Mati Diop
  75. Serbia, “King Petar the First,” Petar Ristovski
  76. Singapore, “A Land Imagined,” Yeo Siew Hua
  77. Slovakia, “Let There Be Light,” Marko Skop
  78. Slovenia, “History of Love,” Sonja Prosenc
  79. South Africa, “Knuckle City,” Jahmil X.T. Qubeka
  80. South Korea, “Parasite,” Bong Joon Ho
  81. Spain, “Pain and Glory,” Pedro Almodóvar
  82. Sweden, “And Then We Danced,” Levan Akin
  83. Switzerland, “Wolkenbruch’s Wondrous Journey into the Arms of a Shiksa,” Michael Steiner
  84. Taiwan, “Dear Ex,” Mag Hsu, Chih-Yen Hsu
  85. Thailand, “Krasue: Inhuman Kiss,” Sitisiri Mongkolsiri
  86. Tunisia, “Dear Son,” Mohamed Ben Attia
  87. Turkey, “Commitment Asli,” Semih Kaplanoglu
  88. Ukraine, “Homeward,” Nariman Aliev
  89. United Kingdom, “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind,” Chiwetel Ejiofor
  90. Uruguay, “The Moneychanger,” Federico Veiroj
  91. Uzbekistan, “Hot Bread,” Umid Khamdamov
  92. Venezuela, “Being Impossible,” Patricia Ortega
  93. Vietnam, “Furie,” Le Van Kiet

Leave a Reply